13 Folds of the American Flag

When folding the flag to store or present, as a way to honor the life of a fallen solider or politician, 13 folds are required. Here are the reasons for each of the folds.

  • 1st Fold: A symbol of life
  • 2nd Fold: A symbol of the belief in eternal life
  • 3rd Fold: For remembrance and honor for the veterans of America
  • 4th Fold: Represents the weaker times when we "Trust in God"
  • 5th Fold: A tribute to the country
  • 6th Fold: The people’s hearts lie in this fold
  • 7th Fold: A tribute to the armed forces
  • 8th Fold: A tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death
  • 9th Fold: A tribute to women and their devotion
  • 10th Fold: For the father who gave his children for the protection of our country
  • 11th Fold: Represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon
  • 12th Fold: Represents eternity and glorifies the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit
  • 13th Fold: Completes the process and, with the stars uppermost, reminds us that "In God We Trust"